Introduction to The Five and Dime

Standard

Let’s start with the name. In John Hughes’ Pretty in Pink there’s a scene in which two of the super-rich girls turn to Andie and snidely remark, “where d’you get your clothes, five and dime store?” (Note: if you haven’t seen said film, here is where you need to go watch it and come back when you have, it’s essential). Andie can wear whatever she wants; she always looks fabulous (well, perhaps excepting the slightly disappointing final dress – we’ll gloss over that. She still rocks it).

Anyway, as a film that contains some of my greatest style icons (we haven’t even mentioned Duckie yet but he will feature, a lot) my blog definitely had to have something to do with this 80s gem. Also I like to think I had my own ‘Andie moment’ when in 6th form one day, meandering to class in my habitually slightly away-with-the-fairies state, I heard a small voice with a heavy south London accent call, “ ‘Scuse me, where d’you get your clothes from, the charity shop?”. I wasn’t even wearing anything that eccentric; as far as I recall my mum’s Fair Isle jumper (which at the time my sister would not be seen in public with but shortly after adopted into her own wardrobe), and probably a floral dress – a pretty staple outfit for me. I found it all quite amusing and the truth is yes, a lot of my wardrobe does come from charity shops, boot-sales, vintage markets, and the like. The majority of my clothes (genuinely 90% of my wardrobe at least) are second hand, which, in brief, I prefer because it’s more sustainable, ethical, individual and exciting than buying the latest high street trend.

So there you have a little introduction to my heavily 80s infused fashion influences, and for now I’ll leave you with some super looks from Pretty in Pink featuring the ever dapper Duckie and Andie.

Leave a Reply

